Philippines vs Japan: San Miguel Beermen dethrones Ryukyu Golden Kings at EASL’s ‘Terrific 12’ in Macau

Takumi Ishizaki, Terrence Romeo
Takumi Ishizaki, Terrence Romeo

San Miguel Beermen dethroned defending champion Ryukyu Golden Kings of Japan, 101-92, on the evening of September 19, 2019 in the East Asia Super League tournament “Terrific 12” at the Tap Seac-Multi-Sport Pavilion in Macau, China. This gave the Philippine Basketball Association team the semis spot in Group B.

Denz Wells exploded for 42 points while Terrence Romeo and Lester Prosper added 18 and 15 markers, respectively, for San Miguel Beermen. They are now set to meet Group D semifinalist Liaoning Flying Leopards on September 21, 2019.

“From the start, we knew this would be a difficult game for us,” San Miguel Beermen head coach Leo Austria. “After the loss of the defending champions, they will come out fighting hard. They’re the defending champions and we know they have a good game plan against us but we’re ready for any eventuality.”

Leading 14-2 early, the Ryukyu Golden Kings had a fine start. But Wells and Romeo joined forces to close the period with a 29-10 run to control the tempo of the game, 31-24.

But the B.League team, behind import De’Mon Brooks, stayed within striking distance as his two free throws cut the San Miguel Beermen’s lead to 70-74 with 9:51 left in the game. Wells again anchored another San Miguel Beermen surge and his one-hand slam gave them a 90-77 lead with 5:03 remaining in the game.

The Ryukyu Golden Kings sliced the lead to single digit on Hayato Kantake’s triple, 86-94. But Wells hit a jumper in the next play to start a crucial 7-3 exchange to put the game out of reach, 101-89, 68 seconds left in the game.

Brooks led the Ryukyu Golden Kings with 34 points and 11 rebounds. Ryuichi Kishimoto chipped in 12 markers.

In Group A, SK Knights grabbed the semis spot after beating the Chiba Jets, 86-76. KJ McDaniels exploded for 47 points to lift TNT KaTropa to a 99-90 win over Niigata Albirex of Japan as TNT KaTropa ended their campaign here on a high note.

McDaniels also hauled down 17 rebounds and got solid support from Roger Pogoy and Almond Vosotros. TNT KaTropa finished their Group D campaign with a 1-1 record.

Both teams were already eliminated after losing their matches to Group D semifinalist Liaoning Flying Leopards but still gave out their best to end their respective campaign on a positive note. Nick Perkins led Niigata with 34 points and 12 rebounds while Shinsuke Kashiwagi and Yuichi Ikeda contributed 17 and 16 markers, respectively.

ESPN5, YouTube Live to air San Miguel Beermen, TNT Katropa, Blackwater Elite games in East Asia Super League’s Terrific 12 in Macao

East Asia Super League

San Miguel Beermen, TNT Katropa and Blackwater Elite will compete against other top pro teams from Japan, China and South Korea in the East Asia Super League’s Terrific 12. Filipino basketball fans can cheer the three Philippine Basketball Association teams on via broadcast and online platforms in the comfort of their own homes.

ESPN5 and ESPN YouTube Live will bring the action of this FIBA-recognized premier tournament live from the Tap Seac Multi-Sport Pavilion in Macao from September 17-22, 2019 on prime time. This best-of-the-best Asian basketball competition, which is now making waves in Asian basketball, will also be covered by 22 networks on major global broadcast and streaming networks.

East Asia Super League was born in Macao in 2017 with just eight teams participating in “Super 8.” In 2018, the Philippines was represented for the first time by a PBA D-League selection called the iECO Green Warriors in a 12-team competition which renamed the tournament as Terrific 12. and growing bigger by the year, the much awaited toe-to-toe of the top ball clubs in the region has now succeeded at luring top-caliber PBA teams into its orbit.

San Miguel Beer, TNT Katropa and Blackwater Elite will compete in a tournament against four Japanese, three Chinese and two Korean ball clubs. These are Liaoning Flying Leopards, Shenzhen Aviators, and Zhejiang Guangsha Lions from China; Chiba Jets, Niigata Albirex, Ryukyu Golden Kings and Utsunomiya Brex from Japan; and Jeonju KCC Egis and Seoul SK Knights from Korea.

The ball clubs will be grouped into four brackets with the top team from each group advancing to the semi-finals scheduled on September 21, 2019. The finals will be played on September 22 with the champion going home with a US$150,000 prize while the runner-up will receive US$100,000 and the second runner-up gets US$50,000.

Fans may also tune into live streams of press conferences, including the Tip-Off press conference at 12:00 noon Manila on September 17, 2019 and the Final Four press conference at 3:30 p.m. Manila time on September 20, 2019 on the various digital platforms to learn more about the competition and the stars of the show. For more in-depth, exclusive and behind-the-scenes information about East Asia Super League and the Terrific 12, please follow the following official website and social media pages:

For ticket details please visit